album jacket

Tomoyo Sugai

first solo album

Thousands of Flowers



2018.09.02 on sale

¥2,500 +tax


アイルランドや日本で様々な演奏に触れ、 伝統的なアイリッシュフルートのスタイルを探求してきました。 そんな中で、いつも大切にしてきたのは歌心。

それぞれの曲が持つメロディーの美しさやリズムに耳を傾け、 歌うように演奏することを心がけてきました。

このソロアルバムでは、今まで出会った数ある伝統的なダンス曲の中から、 とりわけメロディーに惹かれるものを選曲し、歌心を大切に音を紡ぎました。
ゲストミュージシャンには多方面で活躍中の中村大史さん、 梅田千晶さんを迎え、多彩な表現が楽曲を支えてくれています。

ジャケットイラストはdannyさん。 私がアイルランドに暮らしていた頃に撮影した写真から着想して架空の風景を描いて頂きました。

トラックの数と同じ9つの花を描いてもらい、1曲1曲が野に咲く花のようなイメージで、 聴いてもらった人の生活にそっと優しく彩りを与えてくれるような願いをこめました。

I fell in love with Irish music when I visited Ireland for the first time some years ago. Since then, I have been investigating all aspects of traditional Irish flute playing: I am constantly exploring how I can play and different ways of expressing myself as a traditional Irish musician from outside Ireland. What I appreciate most about playing the flute is the beauty of a tune itself, be that melody, rhythm or atmosphere or even a combination of all three. When playing I have in my head how the tunes might be sung.

In this album I have tried to chose tunes that echo these characteristics and I have tried to incorporate these traits in my playing.

Guest musicians Hirofumi Nakamura and Chiaki Umeda bring a warm and gentle atmosphere to this recording.

track list

  • 1. Deer's March

  • The Deer's March/Cuz Teahan's

  • 2. Bluebells Are Blooming

  • Cape Breton/Bluebells Are Blooming

  • 3. The Caucus

  • Eleanor Neary's /Jimmy Lyon's/ The Caucus

  • 4. Dawn Chorus

  • Brennan's/The Dawn Chorus

  • 5. Mother's Lullaby

  • Mother's Lullaby /I gCuimhne Féilim

  • 6. Bird's Tiara

  • Gan Ainm/Bird's Tiara

  • 7. The Rookery

  • The Rookery /Kevin Henry's/Edenderrry

  • 8. Sliabh Geal gCua

  • Sliabh Geal gCua

  • 9. Rolling Waves

  • The Rolling Waves/The Rolling Waves


flute player

  • Hirofumi Nakamura

  • Guitar, Piano, Mandolin,Banjo

  • Chiaki Umeda

  • Harp

special live








会場:手紙社 菜花

(東京都調布市下石原2-6-14 ラ・メゾン1階)



8/24(金)19:00〜、 にて受付を開始いたします。



  • Produced by
  • Tomoyo Sugai / TOKYO IRISH COMPANY

  • Co-produced by
  • Hirofumi Nakmura
  • Chiaki Umeda

  • Distributed by
  • Meta Company Limited

  • Recorded & Mixed & Mastered by
  • Sinsuke Sasakura( guzuri recording house)

  • Art Work by danny
  • Design by meat

  • Contacts